How to blog unselfishly – for writers

Well, so far my father has been the one to read my blog posts the most, I keep writing them as originally intended – to reach a wide ranging, free audience – primarily of adults who use English regularly.

In truth, I do want this blog to be useful and helpful to others.  I’ve noticed, just as the rest of you have, when I’m on Twitter and I click to an article because it looks like there might be something there that will actually help me.

Even so, let’s say that I would like to combine functionality with “being myself” – which I am glad to say I’ve seen at many other writers’ websites.  It can take a while for a personality to get through the Internet but once it starts to do so, it is reassuring that, as readers, we can develop a sense of who someone is, through the written word.

I will feel more confident about telling the other writers how to succeed the more that I actually do.  Its like any other tasks or job – the more we experience success the easier it is to communicate that to others and also the easier it becomes to help others without suffering from rival-anxiety.

This is one reason why I often look to the many authors I have managed to make contact with who have way more books out than I do and actually earn a living and still have their souls.  I’m not I really like how obvious it is that amongst the successful women – not changing spouses seems to contribute to the type of stability that helps for success.  I mean I was already painfully aware of that because being jilted by my first husband seems to have caused about a 20 year delay – literally, in getting my first novel published.  Yes, its because of how I reacted to being ditched shortly after being married and how badly I reacted in terms of ‘how to make up with my husband when I feel he has really acted like a jerk’. …The problem is, I never did make up with him.  I have no idea.  It was so bad that for at least 3 months I considered never letting him divorce me or find me if only to prevent and subsequent marriages and to make sure the pain would linger.  In the end I only avoided him for 2 years and then endured letting him let me go.  I didn’t like it; it wasn’t what I had wanted, but it was easier to stay sober more of the time when I wasn’t with him and I would prefer to have a spouse who actually wants me.

We’ve both remarried since.  I believe he is still remarried.  I’m not married right this minute; I’ve done it before and I would still do it again – although I come from a part of the subcultures where half my friends think its nuts that I’m not just still married and the other half think that the fact that I would even do it again is like admitting to some kind of criminal behavior or attitude – MARRIAGE, like its a dirty word….like CREEP.

Well, let’s hope that we writers can earn livings as writers regardless of stasis or fluctuations in marital status.

Gawd, that was a little weird, but I guess its just because its me today.  I need more contracts but not more coffee.

2 thoughts on “How to blog unselfishly – for writers

Leave a Reply

