The Unconscious

There are times when it is possible to “write from the unconscious”.  All that really means is that I have not pre-planned this blog post.

Sven and I have both experienced ‘forum posting’ online.  For me, it is something that I did during my first year in Germany when I was seeking some way to be interactively involved with others despite the drastic change.  Well, it worked well enough that from August 2010 to August 2011 there were at least 1000 people in touch with me online, and that was back when the number of Facebook friends was less than half of what it is now.  Today that group is at 662 individuals.  Sven usually posts in relation to a few things but since he is a juvenile and has not given permission I am not going to reveal this personal information about him to you.

Kiel Bronson – well, I have to admit, that I hope that I don’t have to be as old as his character before finally completing that whole project, in which he is one of the stars.  Sometimes life is just crazy.  Face it: I started the project when I was 21 years old.  I had a decent 2nd draft by the time I was 24 or 25: I had a lot else going on in my life and major problems that interfered, some self created and some genuinely caused by malicious or indifferent forces – including people, who had no interest in my becoming genuinely successful – especially not while still a young childless woman.

Still, the view from younger is definitely different than the view from older.  That’s the point of having the characters be of such different in age.  I just needed someone who would be able to walk the young Captain through this: who would not lose it, when confronted by one of Emperor Reykjavik’s soldiers gone out of control?!  Kiel was the only person I could find who wouldn’t lose his lunch, launch every missle weapon imagineable, or hide in a corner until the monster went away.

Of course it’s not the same for Gezka “the FaucMerz” but “that’s the gun” so to speak, you know, or “the tank” or “the submarine” or whatever.  Many of you have sen Blade Runner and watched other Science Fiction movies or one of the Star Trek episodes and so have already been introduced to SF forms of artificial people, or the old spook ‘eugenics’ …and all that.

This is one of those stories where I worry about the publisher trying to force a romance or making the woman back off so the man can be the champ.  The real reason for that is that even in 2012, most hard SF fans are the men.  I did it myself, and lots of it, but as the female minority of fans…and in truth, a male entity turned me onto it.  Big brother – only literally, introduced it.  I have ‘Big Sister’ to, but she went to college when I was only 9 and therefore was less of a recreational reading influence than my bro.  Anyways, I don’t want Gezka and Kiel to have a romance.  I hope that readers will find that acceptable seeing as she’s young enough to be his daughter and well, engineered to the point where people can debate whether or not she is a human being or not.  In fact, that is a main theme of the story.

Leave a Reply

