Getting used to the 21st Century

Here we are in the Information Age with an International Space Station and the recent retirement of the Space Shuttle program.  Curiosity has made it to Mars and the photos were available on the Internet in less than 24 hours of when NASA scientists received the information. 

On a personal level, I have one of the same questions that everyone else using a PC [may or may not be a laptop] has: what is the best way for me to use this thing? 

As an author who does not have the budget to take myself all over the world attending writer’s conferences and bank rolling marketing campaigns for the books, one of the main reasons for using the Internet is to meet other people in the industry for career development and also to find and meet the people who would enjoy being ….well, perhaps ‘fans of my work’ is the correct phrase.  I feel a bit weird about that, just because I don’t mean to offend any of you and I’m just this person, same as you are. 

Today, all I can do is urge you to visit Uranian Fiction websites and check out my works.  With any luck, you and your friends will pre-order from Alethia publishing or use Amazon to click and buy a book that I actually wrote which is for sale – in a way that I will actually get paid for the work involved in putting that stuff together. 

Keeping the Internet in perspective is an issue which has now been around for 20 years or so.  Annually, I ask myself about how I use the computer.  Like so many of you I have used a PC on and off since the late 1980s but the way that I do has changed over the years.  It may well continue to do so.

The main reason I am stopping is that blog posts that run over 400 words start to seem like they might be ‘getting too long’.

Leave a Reply

