Today 19 February 2013

As usual, it is a quiet day in a Northwestern German village.  While out today, I saw 2 flocks of birds pass overhead.  I was not able to get an exact count, but after playing the freebie trial Luminosity online brain training games I knew it was good to ‘try’.  Nowadays, the official brain trainers admit that even a little thing like watching the birds and counting them or listening to the rustle of the wind in the breeze or the noises the neighbors are making are all actually healthy forms of mental stimulation. 

I don’t hear the same species of birds every day.  Some of my assumptions about why birds chirp have started to collapse under the weight of enough observation to realize that only some of it was the way that I had thought it was.  What really happened was that during the past 12 weeks one day while I was out, I noticed the birds chirping a lot in weather conditions which I had assumed would have shut them up, not made them chirp.  Well, I don’t understand what happened, but I really noticed it.  That was local creatures.

Yesterday I heard a rooster a few times, but today I did not.  I did see and hear a few large crows today, but the local pigeons had nothing to say.

Yes, there are pigeons as well as humans both out in the countryside and in the city.  They are also flexible that way.

I studied some German today, and more driving theory for Germany. 

Here’s a big tip…You have probably heard about the beer and the Autobahn.  The recommended speed for the Autobahn is actually about 80mph….which is at least less psychotic than I had feared the Germans are, as a people.

Leave a Reply

