Butterfly Season on the Autobahn 2013

Right before I began to write today’s post I checked to see some of who the system identified as having read and commented.  That reminded me to remind you – each of you, that I am glad you bothered to read it and glad when you like what I have blogged. 

Today is one of those days when I did a whole bunch of stuff in the way of my nationality and then I did some stuff that shows I have adapted to where I am. 

My lifestyle over here in Europe is very quiet and feels small.  Because of that, one of the big deals of the day was that for the second time since being granted the Germany based Intl. driving license, I drove on the Autobahn.  I was not one of the high speed drivers on the Autobahn but just toodling along with the German drivers I used speeds that cause immediate loss of the American driving license on USA roads unless you can afford very powerful attorneys to let you keep it. 

From this we see that I have adapted to “those crazy Germans”.  The real key to understand is that they drive more slowly – not quickly, in their villages, and then make up for that difference on the freeways.  That includes the half of the story they didn’t tell me when I was in America “before Germany”.

Leave a Reply

