Scattered Author Thoughts – Related to both real world and fiction 2013

Someone Facebook posted the question “If you were the main character of the novel you most recently read who would you be?”  Well, I truthfully but perhaps snidely commented that I am the author of the novel I most recently read.  Maybe that wasn’t the best way to handle it.  Then again, maybe I should have just answered the question.  The thing is, in my novels there is usually more than one main character.  If that is a major author-sin or crime, then we know what the problem is.  If I answered in relation to the novel I most recently spent time editing the answer is that one way or another the “I” is an interstellar mercenary, a brand spankin’ new mercenary order.  My choices are a young Naav Captain – female, 23 years old, engineered for the warrior life, and a 52 year old hard ass man from planet Earth called Kiel Bronson.  As I am the author I am already neither of them and both of them and so many others.  The time is thousands of years into the future compared to 2013.  The location is close to 30 Light Years from here on planet Earth.  …and it is about the best way to kick some ass, for pay.   Wow, huh.  As a real person I am a delicate, nonviolent peacenick pansy waisted Hippie-esque Earthling who would be terrified of either of those ‘main characters’ if I met them.

That just came through Facebook’s News Feed today.

Seasonal Notes:  Do you have a holiday surrounding your birthday?  If so, which is it and how did it effect you?  This is not a rhetorical question unless you choose to not post a comment.

Five Big Questions in Life:  The main characters listed above are mainly dealing with just 2 of the 5 questions covered in the nonfiction booklet Five Big Questions in Life and how to answer them:  1) What is the best way to live?  2) Right & wrong: how to know which is which and are they absolute or relative?  http://www.amazon.com/Five-Big-Questions-Life-Answer/dp/1617208647/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1382708108&sr=1-1&keywords=Five+Big+Questions+in+Life

Leave a Reply

