November 2013 – First Snow in Indianapolis

Today began in Indianapolis, Indiana.  This is the Circle City, and the setting city of the novel The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead. 

Today there has been snow for the very first time this year.  Having spent some time in the city and some time away from it, I have been able to think about how the setting really effected the plot of the novel and how the location is described within the story. 

There are a few major features of the novel which are based on the reality of life in Indianapolis.  I dared to include a highly sensitive subject and chose a type of crime problem that the local law enforcement agents and much of the public is already uncomfortably aware of.  In international politics they call this the ‘black eye’.  Before I write more, let me point out that Indianapolis really is a good city.  It is just that, like everyplace else, there is trouble sometimes and certain kinds of problems.

Despite the urging of a publishing industry representative, I have not attempted to convert the novel from a quasi-vigilante team unleashed by the Mayor’s Office to help the local police into a murder mystery thriller.  One reason why not, is that I don’t even read thrillers but I did read some crime fiction stories and I have watched TV shows that have a number of the qualities that this novel offers. 

The setting is present in the novel, but I am not the sort of author to go into deep intricate details for pages about the setting.  As a writer I am more character and plot driven. 

While out of town and even out of the country it became clear that it is an Ameri-centric story set in one of the big cities. 

The story revolves around problems amongst both cops and robbers – or criminals in general and the public over the limits of procedure.  While I agree with all the upstanding people that police invasion and police-state security problems are worth preventing, I also agree with the cops and the other people who don’t like it when criminals, not cops are further abusing the laws just to get away with more crimes and blaming the cops for going too far in an effort to hand out justice.  Perhaps it is because I watched a lot of Batman or just because I have always loved hero stories and read a lot in my life. 

You can get yours – if you or anyone you know lives in Indianapolis – consider it a local author promo: right here and now!!   http://sbpra.com/MiriamPia/

Leave a Reply

