Setting – how to be local 2013

For so many, being local is a proverbial mixed bag. We like to be where we are sometimes and in some ways. Usually, whatever makes us happy as individuals influences what aspects of being local we like or dislike.

Everyone who grew up and moved to someplace else knows how it is to realize how refreshing it can be to be somewhere different but also, what can be missed about where one comes from. Personally, I think location does matter. There are places where it is easier or harder for me to be happy: choice of people and opportunities, the climate and so on, all play into whether or not I like a given location.

As it happens I do like where I come from, but I only like the surrounding countryside there when I can still easily get to the city. I have had better luck with certain aspects of life in different locations. I like both urban and suburban or rural but not in the same way. The best parks in the cities are the best expression of what I like most about the countryside.

Story settings and real life ones effect what goes on. People sometimes dive into what is most local and other times people seem to regard their neighbors as highly suspect at best. This varies from person to person but I’ve really noticed it in actual practice. I’ve had neighbors who are great, ones where we could get along as long as we did not get too deeply involved and others were nearly as bad as late night TV induced paranoia tended to make us fear they might be.

I think it comes back to presence. Our own and that of others. We may often like it, but not always. We annoy each other; en enjoy each other and so on. Most of the time we ignore each other.

As you would expect I think everyone feels more present when happy or if it is so busy or something is so pressing that their attention is really captured by the moment. This can be good or bad depending upon the surrounding circumstances.

Please feel free to comment. This could lead to a good discussion of people and their neghborhoods or living choices, and where they feel most at home.

Leave a Reply

