Working Online? 2014

Is it possible to make a good living working online? Yes. Is it likely that by trying an online method for earning a good living from home that it will work? No.

Here’s what happened to me. I did not think that I was going to try to earn a living online. What happened was simply that I was given the tip that I might try using the Google search engine in search of professional writing opportunities. I had tried a few things before, and am old enough to have learned about seeking work before the surge of Internet usage at the dawn of the new Millenium and century.

I went ahead and tried that. I discovered what are now well known as ‘freelancing websites’. These things can be a blessing, a curse or some kind of creature that is a bit of both. What has been great for me about those was that I got some paid experience. Also, over the past ten years they have grown a lot and there are some improvements in the kind of work they offer. What has been bad about it, has been that the pay rates often do not improve even with years of experience and the hiring clients are as apt to behave as if it is offensive to them that you worked for them for an entire year and not just once in a while instead of them wanting to keep you or even admitting that you worked for them later, let alone giving you a well deserved reference.

There are possibilities for people who cannot connect more directly, through more conventional or old fashioned methods. There are people who strike it rich online but I think that for every one who makes it there are more than 50 victims – people who tried and needed real employment and steady income but never got have that.

Leave a Reply

