What Really Happened – cross cultural

Forgive my long absence, but here I am again, writing in from over in the USA.  Right now, I am right around where I grew up.

Today’s post is about what happened a few months ago and how to clear it up.  The truth is, that when I flew in from Germany to England there were 2 lines: EU Arrivals and Non-EU Arrivals.  Being American I chose Non-EU Arrivals and that had a huge impact on what happened.

*Here’s what I didn’t know that in truth, I still can’t say with 100% certainty but with only about 89% certainty.   The German ‘permissions’ were good in England,even with the drama of Brexit.  That had a major influence on how I acted about entering England.

If you have not read the post about what happened, just scroll down to get perspective.  This post simply relates to the one before it.

When I was forced back to Germany, not one single German had a social encounter with me in which I was reminded about the obvious – that the residence and work permits granted me by Germany were still good in England, but….

I would have needed to show those to the Border Patrol rather than my US Passport.

martinnmalcom   What?

The ….Wait a minute….Die Erlaubnissen von Deutschland sind gut in Grossbrittania….Dass ist ganz einfach!  Was ist los mit Dir? (maybeImage result for images american flag Du, oder Dich).

 

I’m sorry, what?

The British Border Patrol even took my US passport so that I would really notice that Germany let me back in using German documentation.  This is due to German relatives.  I was very legally there.  Germany really gave me residence and work permit.  I had ‘earned’ the permanent residency permit but still had a temporary one and was still ambivalent about Germany and chronically missed the USA, but also missed England – less so, but also.

Still…Nothing…

 

….

Bottom Line:  That’s really what happened.  For some reason, between July 5 and November 10th I did not meet a single German who bothered to remind me of the obvious.

I eventually found out that I should have assumed the German permissions were good even without the German equivalent of a Green Card only while stranded at Gatwick in November.  My pass granted to me by England into my US passport ran out.  I worried and I asked around in the airport.  That’s when they reminded me of the truth.  Don’t worry, they assured me when I described my German documentation – with the German permissions I was fine in England for weeks – even months, and could even get a job.

I needed to know that months earlier.  Maybe I was just a Sissy.  Maybe I missed the USA that much.  Maybe, uh, just an embarrassing “Duh!” moment.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

